Sunday, May 15

NPFL Season: Enugu Rangers Home Ground Fails To Meet Requirements, As LMC Certifies 13 Stadia For 2020/21 Season

Spread the love

*Lists 11 others for upgrade and repairs

Frankie Omokhua

In readiness for the 2020/21 Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) season, 13 stadiums have been certified to have met the minimum requirements to host matches by the League Management Company (LMC).

Also, 11 stadia were recommended for upgrade and repair works before they can be certified fit.

This latest development was communicated to the clubs on Friday,  October 30, 2020, in a release sent by the league body.

The memo read in part, “in line with the CAF Circular of July 26, 2020, on stadium infrastructure among others, which was forwarded to you and the need to meet up with the requirements of high quality television production by our new partners, the LMC has reviewed various reports submitted on the state of our stadia across the country”.

It explained that the inspected stadiums have been categorised into two – A and B with Category A representing those that have been approved to host NPFL matches for the season having met the minimum requirements while Category B includes those requiring upgrades.

The 13 approved stadiums are Teslim Balogun Stadium, Lagos, Godswill Akpabio Stadium, Uyo, Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium, Benin, Stephen Keshi Stadium, Asaba and Okigwe Township Stadium.

Others are Abubakar Tafawa Balewa Stadium, Bauchi, Gombe Township Stadium, Pantami, Aper Aku Stadium, Makurdi, Ahmadu Bello Stadium, Kaduna, Enyimba International Stadium, Aba, Muhammad Dikko Stadium, Katsina and Ilorin Township Stadium.

Those listed for upgrade and repair works are 11 stadiums but with Umuahia Township Stadium and Dutse Township Stadium were recommended for complete remodeling and reconstruction.

The rest were listed as requiring repairs varying from relaying of new synthetic grass, regrassing, provision of floodlights, television camera platforms and upgrade of changing rooms as well as provision of additional exit and entry gates among other basic requirements.

They are Sani Abacha Stadium, Kano, Agege Stadium, Akure Township Stadium, Warri Township Stadium, New Jos Township Stadium and Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium, Enugu.

Others are Lafia Township Stadium, IfeanyiUbah Stadium, Nnewi and Fufure Stadium, Yola, which will be inspected for certification after construction work has been completed.

Clubs whose preferred grounds have been recommended for upgrade would have to choose from any of the certified grounds should they be unable to complete the upgrade before the start of the season.

Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium in Enugu
Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)